Hotspot Fire Project

Latest News

Get involved in fire management for your local area

Wednesday, 28th June 2023

Get involved in fire management for your local area

The Nature Conservation Council (NCC) is currently seeking volunteers to be a representative on their local Bushfire Management Committee (BFMC).

Learn more and become a representative today:

Bushfire Management Committees occur in zones designated by the NSW Rural Fire Service, often aligned with boundaries in one or multiple Local Government areas. These committees are responsible for the planning and coordination of bushfire management within a local area for the protection of life, property, and the environment from bushfire.

Committees are made up of many stakeholders including fire authorities, land managers, landholders, community organisations, and the Nature Conservation Council.

NCC representatives are the environmental voice on these committees and ensure threatened species and the environment are considered during the bushfire planning and implementation process.

Many NCC bushfire representatives have backgrounds in RFS brigades, environmental community groups, Landcare, bush regeneration, biological science, and conservation. Committees usually meet twice a year.

Current vacancies include:

  • North: Namoi/Gwydir (Gwydir, Moree Plains, Narrabri); Tamworth; New England (Armidale, Uralla, Walcha) and Liverpool Range (Gunnedah, Liverpool Plains, Upper Hunter).
  • East: Illawarra (Kiama, Shellharbour, Wollongong); Wollondilly/Wingecarribee; Canterbury/ Bankstown/ Georges River.
  • South: Southern Tablelands (Goulburn Mulwaree, Yass Valley, Upper Lachlan); Mid Murray (Murray River, Edward River); Lower Western Zone (Balranald, Wentworth); Snowy Valleys; Federation; South West Slopes (Cootamundra Gundagai, Hilltops).
  • West: North West (Walgett, Coonamble, Warren, Bogan); Mid Lachlan Valley (Parkes, Forbes, Weddin, Lachlan); Bland/Temora; Barwon/Darling (Bourke, Brewarrina); Central Darling; Cobar; West Darling (Unincorporated); and Lower Western Zone (Balranald Shire, Wentworth Shire).
  • Return to News