Hotspot Fire Project

Latest News

Hotspots wins an award

Thursday, 24th November 2011

Hotspots wins an award

Hotspots recently became the National winner of the 2011 Australian Safer Community Awards in the Education, Training and Research category. The awards, sponsored by the Australian Government Attorney-General’s Department, in conjunction with States and Territories recognise innovative practices and achievements across the nation that are making communities safer, stronger, more disaster resilient and better prepared to manage any emergency situation.

The Attorney-General, the Hon Robert McClelland MP, presented the National award to Lana Andrews and Dr Simon Heemstra at the Australian War Memorial ceremony, 8 December.

NSW Minister for Police and Emergency Services, Michael Gallacher and Ms Katherine Buchanan from the Commonwealth Attorney General’s Department presented the State award to the Hotspots team during a ceremony at the NSW Parliament House, 14 October.

There to receive the State award (from left to right) included Phil Paterson (RFS Environment Officer), Pepe Clarke (NCC CEO), Kate McShea (NCC Hotspots Project Officer), Waminda Parker (NCC Hotspots Manager), Lana Andrews (RFS Coordinator Hotspots Program), Dr Simon Heemstra (RFS Community Planning Manager), John Allen (RFS Environment Officer), Brodie Rafferty (RFS Hotspots Project Officer), and the RFS Commissioner Shane Fitzsimmons.

Hotspots would like to thank the Australian Attorney-General’s Department and judging panel for the recognition of our work and congratulate all other highly commended and winning entries in their appropriate categories.

Return to News